Hostgator Review

Hostgator Review
Plan in review: Baby Cloud
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Last Updated: July 10, 2018
Summary
Admittedly, Hostgator quality has dropped ever since they were sold to EIG. But we think their new plan - Hostgator Cloud Hosting is here to change that. The new cloud plan (we switched in 2017) is reliable, reasonable priced, and relatively simple to setup. We recommend Hostgator Cloud Hosting and think they are particular right for bloggers who want a simple host.

Hostgator Inc. was founded by Brent Oxley in his college dorm back in 2002. The company grew from a one-man operation to one with hundreds of employees over the years; and was ranked 21st (year 2008) and 239th (year 2009) in Inc. 5000 Fastest Growing Company.

In 2012, Brent sold the company was sold to Endurance International Group (EIG) for, unofficial figure, $225 million.

EIG, which also owns a number of other well-known hosting brands, including BlueHost, iPage, FatCow, HostMonster, Pow Web, Easy CGI, Arvixe, eHost, A Small Orange, and so on; is now the largest website hosting company.

About Hostgator, the company

  • Founded in 2002 by Brent Oxley.
  • Services: Shared, VPS, dedicated, and cloud hosting
  • Offices in four locations: Houston and Austin, Texas; Florianopolic and Sao Paulo, Brazil.
  • Data centers: Houston, TX and Provo, UT, America (U.S.).

 


 

What’s in this Hostgator review

Verdict & Relevant Info

Back to top


 

My 11 years experience with Hostgator hosting

This Hostgator review was first published in 2008. That was almost a decade ago.

The company has went through a number of big changes – Brent sold his company to Endurance International Group (EIG), the company released a new Hostgator.com site design, and the Gator reinvented themselves as a cloud hosting provider.

As a long time Hostgator user, I have witnessed the up and down of the company.

WHSR (this site you are reading) was once hosted at Hostgator before I moved to cloud-based hosting WP Engine in 2011 and to InMotion Hosting two years later.

My 10 years billing history with Hostgator. Can I get a free company T-shirt? :)

Apparently Hostgator is no longer the same beast that we used to know in 2008. And we need a review on Hostgator’s service.

In March 2017, I bought myself a new Hostgator Cloud and started monitoring its server performance. This Hostgator review is built on my experience in two different plans – Hostgator Shared and Cloud.

 

 

Back to top


 

Hostgator Hosting: The Pros

1. Solid server uptime performance (constantly above 99.99%)

Server uptime is the one thing that I stress a lot in my hosting reviews. Fancy additional features are meaningless unless your site stays online.

As I own both Hostgator Shared hosting and Cloud hosting in the past – I am giving you the uptime record for both plans.

Hostgator Cloud Server Uptime (March 2018): 99.99%

Hostgator cloud hosting uptime (March 2018): 99.99%.

Older Records (2017)

Hostgator cloud hosting uptime (Sep 2017): 99.9%

Hostgator cloud hosting uptime (Apr 2017): 100%

* Click image to enlarge.

Hostgator Shared Hosting Uptime (March 2017): 100%

Hostgator shared hosting uptime (March 2017): 100%. This test site hosted on Hostgator Shared Hosting has not gone down since November 2016. We stopped tracking Hostgator shared hosting after April 2017.

Jul 2016: 100%

hostgator uptime 072016

Mar 2016: 100%

hostgator - 201603

Feb 2016: 100%

hostgator feb 2016 uptime

Feb 2015: 100%

Hostgator uptime (Jan 10 - 11 Feb, 2015) - test site hosted on Hostgator has been staying up for more than 780 hours.

Jun 2014: 99.91%

Hostgator uptime scores for Past 30 days (May - June 2014)

Oct 2013: 99.97%

hostgator uptime score

 

Back to top


 

2. Hostgator Cloud Hosting = Speed

I ran multiple speed test on Hostgator Cloud Hosting using Bitcatch and WebpageTest.

The results were magnificient.

Here are some speed test results I got for different test sites. Take note on the server response times for test nodes located at United States – the results (below 50ms) were superb.

Speed test result for site #1, April 2017 – Test site scored an impressive “A” on first test. Most other web hosts in this price range do not score above A- in Bitcatcha speed test. This result (and the few that I am going to show you below) convince me that Hostgator is back to the top of their game.
Speed test result for test site #2: A!
Speed test result for test site #3: A! (For the record, the speed test score for this site was C+ in first run; the image shown above is the result for second run.)
Test site recorded TTFB at 426ms in one of the recent tests.

 

Back to top


 

3. Special discount: Save 45%

Save up to 45% when you signup to Hostgator Cloud hosting plan today.

Bear in mind that, however, this price falls back to normal when you renew (see below for more).

Hostgator’s Cloud Plans: Hatchling Cloud, Baby Cloud, and Business Cloud.

To order, click: https://www.hostgator.com/cloud-hosting/

Back to top


 

4. Free site migration for new users

Hostgator provides a limited number of free transfers from other hosting companies to new users.

For Cloud Plans, you are eligible for one full transfer within 30 days of signup.

To request a site migration, login to your customer portal > Support > Request Migration.

 

 

Back to top


 

5. Good customer care policy

Hostgator uptime guarantee

The company guarantees 99.9% server uptime and will refund your money should the uptime fall short. Read Hostgator’s ToS (clause 15).

If your shared or reseller server has a physical downtime that falls short of the 99.9% uptime guarantee, you may receive one (1) month of credit on your account.

This uptime guarantee does not apply to planned maintenance. Approval of any credit is at the sole discretion of HostGator and may be dependent upon the justification provided […] To request a credit, please visit http://support.hostgator.com to create a support ticket to our Billing department with justification.

Support from Hostgator comes in four channels: 24×7 live chat, telephone, forums, and ticketing system.

For those who hate to wait and like to solve problem in their own hands – The company also hosts a comprehensive user support knowledge base.

While not everyone is happy with their after-sales service the company  the company is at least care Hostgator does care about their customers.

 

45 days money back guarantee

Most hosting companies offer a standard 30-day money back guarantee for their first time customers.

HostGator is one of the few that bumps the trial period up to 45 days, giving you an extra 15 days to try out their offerings with no risk.

Hostgator’s terms on Money-back Guarantee.

Hostgator User Forum

A forum (that allows its users to speak freely) is usually positive indication of company’s will to listen from their customers and improve continuously.

You can visit Hostgator forum here.

Screen shot of Hostgator forum (April 2018).

 

Back to top


 

6. Hostgator = Bloggers’ favorite hosting brand?

In 2015, I spoke to a group of ~50 bloggers and asked for their comment about their web host. There were 43 votes and 21 hosting brands mentioned in the survey.

Hostgator was the most frequent mentioned name (7 times) in the survey.

 

hosting survey chart 1
WHSR 2015 Hosting Survey – 7 out of 41 votes casted go to Hostgator hosting. More details: WHSR Web Hosting Survey 2015.

The same thing happened in 2016. The survey size was 4x larger with ~200 respondents. Out of the ~200 responses I got, 30 of them are hosting their primary site at Hostgator.

 

Numbers of web hosting brands mentioned in the survey.
Numbers of web hosting brands mentioned in the survey. 30 out of 188 respondents are hosting their primary site at Hostgator. More details: WHSR Web Hosting Survey 2016 

Hostgator users are generally happy with their host

After two major server outage in 2013 and 2014, I did not expect so many bloggers to stick with Hostgator hosting. Some survey respondents I spoke to complained about the long wait time at live chat but generally most of them are happy with their host.

For your reference, here are feedbacks on Hostgator I collected via emails.

Enstine Muki, EnstineMuki.com

“Been with them [Hostgator] since 2008 and have not had any major issues.

The Live support has become the worst thing on Hostgator. It’s becoming more and more difficult to get help either by mail or live chat. Looks like it’s the worst in the industry at the moment.”

 

Abrar Mohi Shafee, Blogging Spell (Blog Sold)

“People might’ve noticed HostGator has gotten very slow in live support. Previously, it was 2-3 minutes, but now it is taking 30 minutes or longer.

Just to clarify, I think, this is the consequence of data center transfer as off the owner has changed. Though I should let you know, HostGator was the company who provided the fastest live support ever. The existing customers are thinking to move from it where the new customers think they will be trapped by getting themselves in. But I think, we should give them a chance as they are gradually overcoming. The company was the gem of hosting in last few years. There has to be a tough reason for all these difficulties. But that never means they are a bad host.”

 

Lisha Yost, Blog and Retire

“I use Hostgator for hosting.

I have been using hostgator since 2011 with zero problems. I They have great chat support. They are super helpful any time I have a problem or question. They are sometimes able to answer technical questions not related to hosting even! The only issue I’ve run into lately is longer wait times for the chat support…

I do not plan on switching hosts, for the above reasons.”

Credit: Enstine MukiBlog and Retire.

Hostgator users feedback on Twitter

 

Back to top


 

 

Hostgator Hosting: The Cons

1. Hostgator “unlimited’ hosting is limited

In reality, all unlimited hosting offers are limited by a long list of server usage limitation.

Hostgator is not exceptional in this issue – excessive usage of Hostgator server may result in account suspension or termination.

If you read the company Acceptable Use Policy

C / a. i) [You may not] Use twenty-five percent (25%) or more of our system resources for longer than ninety (90) seconds at a time. Activities that could cause this excessive use, include but are not limited to: CGI scripts, FTP, PHP, HTTP, etc.

C/ b. The use of more than two hundred and fifty thousand (250,000) inodes on any shared or reseller account may result in a warning, and if no action is taken to reduce the excessive use of inodes, your account may be suspended. If an account exceeds one hundred thousand (100,000) inodes it will be automatically removed from our backup system to avoid over-usage, however, databases will still be backed up as a courtesy in our sole discretion.

 

Back to top


 

2. Higher cost during renewal

Like many other hosting companies who offer huge discounts on signup price, Hostgator will jack up the price once your bill is up for renewal (a common practice for almost all budget hosting).

For your reference, here’s the renewal price for Hostgator Cloud Hosting Plans.

Hostgator Plans
Signup (36-mo)*
Renewal (12-mo)
Renewal (24-mo)
Renewal (36-mo)
Hatchling Cloud
$4.95/mo
$10.95/mo
$9.95/mo
$9.23/mo
Baby Cloud
$7.95/mo
$13.95/mo
$12.95/mo
$11.95/mo
Business Cloud
$9.95/mo
$19.95/mo
$18.95/mo
$17.95/mo

 

* Note: All signup price based on Hostgator’s recent discount (April 2018), please refer to https://www.hostgator.com for latest offer price. 

** Also – To see this in context, also read our market study on the overall cost of creating a website

 

Back to top


 

3. Occasionally long wait time for live chat support

In 2017, I reached out to 28 hosting companies’ live chat support and recorded my experience in a spreadsheet.

The performance of Hostgator live chat support met my expectation in that case study. Average wait time was 4 minutes and my issues was resolved efficiently.

However, there was time when I need to wait 15 – 20 minutes to reach their live chat support – which I find rather dissatisfying. Users who are big on live chat support might want to check out others (SiteGround has the best live chat support in my experience so far, go check out).

 

Back to top


 

4. Website Builder: Overpriced and limited features for hosting users

Hostgator Website Builder comes with 100+ mobile friendly templates and bunch of useful integrations.

However, you can only get a tiny fraction of these awesome features as a Hostgator hosting users – you are only allow to build 6 pages using this tool.

To access Hostgator Website Builder, login to your customer portal after purchase > (top navigation) Website Builder. You’ll need to pay an additional fees of $15.99/mo for the full package (which I recommend against).

 

Back to top


 

Plans, Pricing, and Other Quick Facts

Like their shared hosting, Hostgator Cloud Hosting comes in three different plans – Hatchling Cloud, Baby Cloud, and Business Cloud.

Features Hatchling Cloud Baby Cloud Business Cloud
Domain 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
CPU Capacity 2 Cores 4 Cores 6 Cores
Memory Capacity 2 GB 4 GB 6 GB
Dedicated IP
Private SSL
Signup Price (24-mo)* $6.95/mo $8.95/mo $10.95/mo
Signup Price (36-mo)* $4.95/mo $7.95/mo $9.95/mo
Trial Period 45 days 45 days 45 days

 

* The price tags displayed at Hostgator official page (Hostgator.com/cloud-hosting) is based on 36-month subscription. Monthly price is higher when you go with a shorter subscription period (say, 24-month). 

Hostgator SiteLock and CodeGuard Backup

Hostgator offers various upgrades and built-in features in their hosting plans.

For example you can purchase SiteLock ($19.99/year) and CodeGuard ($19.95/year) when you checkout at Hostgator. These two features are relative cheaper and convenient for users who are looking for affordable business hosting with basic site protection.

List of some useful features offered when you checkout at Hostgator.

More quick facts

  • Hostgator servers are located in United States only. For advanced users, you’ll need a CDN to reduce latency.
  • Hostgator does not support NGINX and HTTP/2 at this point of writing.
  • Cloud Hosting Plans come with a performance dashboard that provide a quick view of server resources, site global reach, and uptime.
  • Sites hosted on Hostgator Cloud load faster (compared to Hostgator Shared) partly due to Hostgator’s custom-built caching machine.

Back to top


 

Verdict: Is Hostgator right for your websites?

We usually select a web host based on few key factors: company reputation, reasonable price, features, and server performance. Based on test results and studies shown above, you can see that Hostgator Cloud Hosting meets expectation in all categories. The company scored 4.5-star in our updated rating (we use a 80-point check list for our reviews, learn how it works here). 

So yes – Hostgator is a go. And I personally think the Gator is particularly a good choice for newbies and individual bloggers who wish to “stick with the crowd”.

Quick recap

 

 

Back to top


 

Order Hostgator Cloud at 45% discount

Click: https://www.hostgator.com/cloud-hosting/