InMotion Hosting Review

InMotion Hosting Review
Plan in review: Power
Reviewed by:
Rating:
Review Last Updated: February 01, 2018
Summary
Recommended. Top class hosting service (>99.95% uptime, TTFB <500ms) at reasonable price.

In 2009, InMotion Hosting gave me a free shared hosting account (the “Launch” plan) for review purpose. I got hooked instantly and became their loyal customer.

Today – almost a decade later, I pay InMotion Hosting more than $500 every year to host this site you are reading.

The hosting company is outstanding in many ways – I have rated them as one of the best for the past years. In this review, I am going to show you the hosting data and other details I’ve gathered through out the years.

About InMotion Hosting

  • Head quarter: Los Angeles, California
  • Established: 2001
  • Services: Shared, VPS, dedicated, and reseller hosting

(Quick Jump) Review InMotion Hosting in:

Special Discount: Save 57% On Signup

InMotion’s Shared Hosting, originally priced at $6.99/8.99/15.99/mo for Launch, Power, and Pro Plan.

If you order via my special promotion link, you’ll save up to 57% (prices go down to $2.95/4.49/7.49/mo) on your first bill.

Not all InMotion Hosting prices are the same.


Click here to visit the special discount page at InMotionHosting.com

 

Back to top


 

InMotion Hosting Server Performance

InMotion Hosting offers Solid-State-Drive (SSD) storage (which usually loads 20x faster than usual hard disk) to all shared hosting users and supports PHP 7.

InMotion Hosting Users’ options in server upgrades are abundance – the company offers different range of shared, VPS, dedicated, and reseller hosting plans; but can only choose  their server location between US East Coast (Washingon DC) and West Coast (Los Angeles).

Our Experience & Thoughts:

Average hosting uptime above 99.95%

Time-to-first-byte (TTFB) below 500ms

Rated A+ at Bitcatcha Speed Test

 

Does not support NGINX Server

Server location only in United States

 

InMotion Hosting Uptime (Jan 2018): 100%

No outages were recorded at InMotion Hosting in December 2017 / January 2018.

InMotion Hosting Uptime (Mar 2017): 100%

No outages were recorded since August 2016. Site hosted on InMotion Hosting (which is this site you are looking at) scored 100% uptime for the last 30 days in February/March 2017.

Old Records (2013 – 2016)

* Click to enlarge image. 

July 2016: 99.95%

inmotion uptime 072016

March 2016: 99.99%

inmotion - 201603

Feb 2016: 99.97%

inmotion hosting feb 2016 uptime

Sep 2015: 99.83%

inmotion sept uptime

Aug 2015: 100%

InMotion Hosting uptime record for July/August 2015. Site has not gone down for the past 934 hours.

Mar 2015: 100%

InMotion Hosting uptime

Apr 2014: 100%

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, March - April 2014)

Mar 2014: 99.99%

InMotion Hosting Uptime Score (Past 30 days, February - March 2014)

Dec 2013: 100%

inmotion vps uptime dec-jan

 

InMotion Hosting Server Speed Test at Bitcatcha

inmotion feb 2016 response speed
My test site is pinged from 8 different locations – site response times were recorded and compared. Test site hosted at InMotion Hosting scored A+ (Feb 2016). In contrast, most other hosts in our review list scored below B+ (three levels below) in this test.

Time-to-First-Byte (TTFB) Based on Webpage Test

Test site’s TTFB: 415ms – rated A at WebpageTest.org.

 

Back to top


 

InMotion Hosting’s Customer Care

 

Our Experience & Thoughts:

Clear service terms and guarantees

90-day money back guarantee (industry’s #1)

Helpful 24×7 live chat and telephone support

Good billing practice – users can refund or cancel account easily

Does not host a support forum

Phone verification for all new customers

 

Live Chat Experience

InMotion Hosting’s live chat support was one of the best in my undercover experiment in August 2017. The live chat support staff responded in less than 60 seconds and solved my issues quickly.

I did another field test when I was doing this review (see image) – the result was equally good.

Another field test when I was doing this review – my live chat request was answered instantly.

InMotion Hosting’s Service Terms & Guarantees

All 6 month and longer term hosting plans for our Business, VPS and Reseller Hosting packages are covered by our unmatched 90-day money back guarantee. All Dedicated Severs and all monthly billed VPS and Reseller Hosting packages are eligible for a full refund for 30 days.

Source

Why phone verification for new customers?

InMotion operates on some very tight fraud prevention policies where all new customers will need to verify their purchase via phone.

While this might sound nothing for those living in United States, it’s sort of inconvenient for some of us who are living outside U. S.

I live in Malaysia and I do not like this feature personally, mainly because issues with long distance phone calls: time zone gap and bad reception. However, the good thing about this is that InMotion users get to host in a safer environment with spammers and fraudsters as neighbors.

 

Back to top


 

InMotion Hosting Essential Features

 

Our Experience & Thoughts:

Hosting plans packed with all essential features

Allow more than 200,000 inodes

Free site migration for first time customers

Power Plan only support up to 6 domains

Does not manage software (ie. WordPress) upgrades

 

 

InMotion Hosting Free Migration Service

For non-techie or newbies (or simply you are lazy) – you can let InMotion Hosting to handle the site migration work.

Login to AMP dashboard > Account Operations > Website Transfer Request

More info about InMotion’s site migration service (visit).

InMotion Hosting offers free, zero down time, site migration.

InMotion Hosting Email

InMotion Hosting email is easy to use. Users can create, manage, and login to their emails from Account Management Panel (AMP) or cPanel.

InMotion Hosting supports three webmail agents: RoundCube, SquirrelMail, and Horde.

Setup your emails at InMotion Hosting AMP or login to cPanel dashboard > Email ACcount > Setup Mail Client.

Select Server Location and Pre-Configure CMS

You can select your server location (West or East Coast of United States) and pre-configure your CMS when you order InMotion Hosting.

* Click image to enlarge. 

InMotion Hosting server configuration during order.

 

Back to top


 

Prices – Is InMotion Hosting value for money?

 

Our Experience & Thoughts:

Reasonable: Power Plan starts at $4.49/mo

Cheap entry price: Launch starts at $2.95/mo

Users save 57% when order via our special promo link

Price increase during renewal

 

 

 

Increment on Renewal Price

New users get an one-time discounts when they first signup to InMotion Hosting. However, you will need to pay a higher price during renewal. The standard renewal prices, for 24-months subscription, for Launch/Power/Pro are $6.99/8.99/15.99 per month.

This is sort of the industry norms for hosting companies nowadays. But there are some hosting companies that do not jack up their renewal price.

InMotion Hosting Exclusive Discount (57% Discount)

InMotion’s Shared Hosting, originally priced at $6.99/8.99/15.99/mo for Launch, Power, and Pro Plan.

If you order via my special promotion link, you’ll save up to 57% (prices go down to $2.95/4.49/7.49/mo) on your first bill.

Not all InMotion Hosting prices are the same.

Click here to visit the special discount page at InMotionHosting.com

 

Compare Prices: InMotion Hosting vs SiteGround

Both InMotion Hosting and SiteGround are well-known for its solid server performance and helpful technical supports.

In comparison, InMotion Hosting is cheaper and comes with 90 days money back guarantee.

InMotion Hosting SiteGround
Shared Hosting Launch Power Pro StartUp GrowBig GoGeek
Websites 2 6 Unlimited 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Free Domain
Money Back Guarantee 90 Days 90 Days 90 Days 30 Days 30 Days 30 Days
Server Locations United States only – East or West Coast United States, Europe, Asia.
Signup $2.95/mo $4.49/mo $7.49/mo $3.95/mo $5.95/mo $11.95/mo
Renewal $6.99/mo $8.99/mo $15.99/mo $9.95/mo $14.95/mo $29.95/mo
Order / Learn More InMotionHosting.com SiteGround.com

 

Compare Prices: InMotion Hosting vs BlueHost

InMotion Hosting BlueHost
Shared Hosting Launch Power Pro Basic Plus Prime
Websites 2 6 Unlimited 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Free Domain
Money Back Guarantee 90 Days 90 Days 90 Days 30 Days 30 Days 30 Days
Server Locations United States only – East or West Coast No Choice
Signup $2.95/mo $4.49/mo $7.49/mo $2.95/mo $5.95/mo $5.95/mo
Renewal $6.99/mo $8.99/mo $15.99/mo $7.99/mo $10.99/mo $14.95/mo
Order / Learn More InMotionHosting.com bluehost.com

 

* Hosting prices checked on Feb 1st, 2018. For best accuracy please visit hosting companies’ websites. 

 

Back to top


 

Verdict: InMotion Hosting – Yes, No?

Absolutely yes. InMotion Hosting = Premium web hosting service at reasonable price (even after the 50% jack up during renewal).

 

Pros

  • Excellent server performance – average hosting uptime above 99.95%, TTFB below 500ms.
  • More than 15 years of proven business track record.
  • Good customer support and billing practices.
  • 90-day money back satisfaction guarantee – industry’s top.
  • Free sites migration for new customers.
  • Plenty of room to grow – users get to upgrade their hosting servers to VPS and dedicated hosting at reasonable price.

Cons

  • Phone verification for new customers.
  • Price increase during renewal.
  • Power Plan only support up to 6 domains.

 

Reference: WHSR’s WhoIs Record

I pay InMotion Hosting $500+ every year to host this website.

Check WebHostingSecretRevealed.net WhoIs record to verify that this site is hosted on InMotion Hosting.

You can see on WebHostingSecretRevealed.net WhoIs record that this site is hosted on InMotion Hosting.
This site is hosted on InMotion’s VPS hosting.

Back to top


 

Order InMotion Hosting at Special Price

Click: https://www.inmotionhosting.com/business-hosting/

 


P/S: Is this review helpful?

WHSR is funded mainly by affiliate income. If you like our work, please support us by buying via our affiliate link. It helps us to keep our site content at top quality and produce more helpful hosting review like this one.